Session 4 Blog Post

SUMMARY

Role

Room Designer

Intention (SMART Goal)

By March 2nd, as the room designer for team 2, I will create preset rooms that will generate in the levels by following how Spelunky makes it’s random generation for our Session 4 project.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Derek Yu created the level design system for Spelunky, which is similar to how I plan for our game’s system to work.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derek_Yu

Training Source(s)

Project Timeline

  1. Basic enemy AI
  2. Functional Imp sprites
  3. Improved room generation
  4. Basic boss implimentation
  5. Basic player upgrades

Proposed Budget

Pre-Production edited by John Zickuhr

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

https://leotheweeb.itch.io/unity-rogue-like

Skills Commentary

I made preset rooms that will generate into levels when the game starts. I also made arrow traps that will shoot players.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I encountered a bug where arrow traps wouldn’t destroy arrows that hit arrow traps, but I figured out the problem and made it so that they could destroy each other.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

When I needed advice, I would get help from John, since he’s better at coding than me.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

By looking at the way that Spelunky does level creation, I created a random generation for the levels in our game.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I learned how to problem-solve, and how to code in Unity on my own.

Reactions to the Final Version

Jim told us that our game looked promising and that making a roguelike was very advanced for most freshmen.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I’m a little disappointed that we didn’t get the enemy ai done until the very end, meaning we didn’t have enough time to make the game fully playable, but I’m still incredibly happy with how it turned out. With a few more features, this will be a full game.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned how to code on Unity. Before, I had to ask John for help on most things, but now I am able to code for the most part on my own.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly and John

Editor

John

One thought on “Session 4 Blog Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *