Session 4 Blog Post

SUMMARY

Role

Level Designer

Intention (SMART Goal)

By March 1, as the level designer, I will have the layout of my second map completely finished and made on Unity.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Ari Gibson is the level designer for Hollow Knight. Hollow knight has a huge world that manages to keep the player engaged throughout the entire game.

Ari Gibson

Training Source(s)

  1. Probuilder is an easy way to prototype levels and get other people to play it.
  2. You should get feedback from an outside party as quickly as possible.
  3. Probuilder has a lot of different things I didn’t know it could do, I should test out its features before making the next map.
  4. FPS-level design should encourage constantly being in the action.
  5. I should try to get assets from the asset store in unity.
  6. I may need to make some assets myself, or at least get my team members to do it.

Project Timeline

  1. Sketch out the map on a piece of paper.
  2. Practice using Probuilder to figure out how to use it more in-depth.
  3. Begin designing the map.
  4. Get textures from the unity asset store.
  5. Give the map textures for the objects.
  6. Playtest the map.
  7. Edit it until it’s fully complete.

Evidence of Team Planning and Decisions

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1F7He9Lt5is-k6p_z6awE9-OI27Pmys1Elump9pGWUrY/edit

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

The game is not in a playable enough state to have posted. Next session, we will have the game posted.

Skills Commentary

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1ES7A8aecSduOOqIwVIa9NzuYRSCIfBw9jzGuYZ7s1CU/edit#slide=id.g1176dcbe26d_0_0

I made the layout for my second map on unity, and I made changes to the first map to make it look nicer.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem-Solving)

I drew a sketch of the map I wanted to make on graph paper before making it on Unity to help me understand what I wanted it to look like.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

We playtested the game frequently, and I would ask for pieces of feedback on the first map. This allowed me to make quality changes to make the map more fun for players.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used the unity package pro builder to design my maps, and then I downloaded assets from the asset store.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

After making the second map, I was able to use my knowledge of how to use pro builder to improve parts of the first map that looked bad.

Reactions to the Final Version

The advisors, Lin and Nelle, said that they wish to see our game when it is ready since it seems promising.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I think the game has turned out very well, and I am excited to show it off next session. We have multiple guns, working multiplayer, and a playable map.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Leo Martinelli

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *